-=-
Menu
Tournaments
Profile
Poll
Latest videos
Latest comments
2017-08-18: "I only read thi..." -Treylina
2017-07-13: "yep, its time t..." -Krzysiek
2017-07-12: "That's an off-t..." -Jelly Jam
2017-07-12: "i'm your venus,..." -Ragnarok
2017-07-12: "she's got ityea..." -Ragnarok
2017-07-11: "still pr0" -Jelly Jam
2017-07-10: "There you go. F..." -Vivando
2017-07-10: "Vetos are now r..." -Vivando
2017-07-08: "or maybe just p..." -Jelly Jam
2017-07-06: "maybe we can re..." -KRSplatinum
Latest matches
flag CX [09:05] -t3>flag
flag CX [09:07] -t3>flag
flag CX [12:07] CCflag
flag [CDF] [09:05] [GpW]flag
flag [GpW] [08:04] [CDF]flag
flag CX [10:06] -t3>flag
flag -t3> [08:04] CXflag
flag CX [10:04] [GpW]flag
flag -t3> [07:04] CXflag
flag CC [01:00] [GpW]flag
Latest forum posts
By: Hope, in: Get to know other jj2 players « JJ2 related2017-08-15 21:10
Thanks guys ^^
By: Naps, in: Funniest moments! « Forum games2017-08-14 20:18
[17:02:10] Jety: Lazar, duel me nub on olcgarden ...
By: Jelly Jam, in: Get to know other jj2 players « JJ2 related2017-08-06 11:53
Happy birthday to Pony :3
By: Vegito, in: Get to know other jj2 players « JJ2 related2017-08-06 10:47
Happy birthday, Hope xd

JJnet's forum

«Latest posts» «Latest threads» «Search» «User CP»

     [prog] A-STOP - countdown to /stop | [q]2012-04-19 00:14
wKtKavatar
Webmaster
Posts: 707
118
A-STOP
1.23 Support added! Check the download link for the newest version.

Ohai everyone, wKtK here.

As suggested by Gry in this thread, I made a client-side program that provides you with a public, ingame countdown before a stop command.
This enables people to stop the game without annoying others who fall to their doom, plummel into a pit, or end up next to an opponent when the game stops.

Countdown periods are adjustable, and a seperate countdown for CTO-ers is included.

Because I should be sleeping now, I'll copypasta a long text from the programs help here after providing you with the download link.

DOWNLOAD LINK: Click me!
Youtube example, watch at 480p!

Detailed info:
Quote:
Using this program is really simple. First, let me list here what you need:

Requirements:
- Jazz2; (1.23 or 1.24, YOU NEED PLUS)
- This program (duh emo)
- Cake

Well, once you have this you're good to go!
[-] First you want to run your Jazz2.exe, or however it's called on your
system.
[-] Then, select your instance of Jazz2 from the drop-down box at the top of
the application. If you're in-game, the level-title will be displayed.
[-] If everything is alright, ASTOP will echo a test message in Jazz2. (this is
only visible for you)

Ok, once you got through there the program is ready for use. Everytime you
want to stop, you can start a countdown after which the program will chat
the jj2+ command '/stop'.

The countdown can be started by clicking the huge 'STOP!' button, or by
issueing an ingame command. more on those later.
If you accidently fire a countdown, click the huge 'Cancel' button to, well,
cancel it.

A different countdown with a message about someone cto-ing can be started
by clicking the 'CTO!' button. It's up to you wheter you use this, or use the
plain function.

Using the 2 input fields, you can adjust the amount of seconds for each
countdown. Keep these low to avoid spamming too much.

Ok, next up is the cool part. Ladies and Gentlerabbits, fasten your seatbelts
for INGAME COMMANDS *applause*
Ingame commands can be launched by typing the command in Jazz2,
>WITHOUT ACTUALLY CHATTING IT<. In other words, you DON'T press
enter after you type it. ASTOP autochanges your typed text to blank once it
picks up the command.

Commands:

/cstop : Starts an automated countdown to a '/stop' command.
/ccto : The same as /cstop, but with a different message stating that
someone CTO'd.
/astop : Excat copy of /cstop, for people who accidently use the programs
name as a command.
/ccan : Cancels the current cowntdown. (Only for the one who started it)
------------
Known Issues:
[-] No 1.20, Avalon, Battery Check, AGA, or Minecraft support.
[-] 1.23 support not tested, but should work. (Switch to 1.24. NOW.)



Nostalgia warning, well, at least if you're one of those ppl...
(This post has been helpful to 2 of the forumers.)
Replies
JJBynny
-t3>
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 3
2
#1 | [q]2012-04-19 01:18
Good job wKtk. I tested it a bit and it seems to work very well. The options are nice and the design of the program looks also very good, well done. Only had some problems here and there when I set a new countdown for stopping (/cstop). Also 3 seconds for the countdown seems to fit best, however maybe 2 seconds is also worth trying out. Thanks wKtk!
Iustyn
CC
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 373
24
#2 | [q]2012-04-19 08:43
nice wktk,i just tested this and it rlly works
gj! emo emo emo emo emo emo
wKtK
avatar

Webmaster
Posts: 707
118
#3 | [q]2012-04-19 09:53
Thanks for your feedback, it is really appreciated.

Quote:
Also 3 seconds for the countdown seems to fit best, however maybe 2 seconds is also worth trying out.

I'm at school and on Linux atm, but when I get home I'll update the minimum countdown to 2 instead of 3.




Nostalgia warning, well, at least if you're one of those ppl...
Vegito
CC
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 387
30
#4 | [q]2012-04-19 12:24
Quote:
Because I should be sleeping now, I'll copypasta a long text from the programs help here after providing you with the download link.


Copypasta, copyspaghetti?

I got the program working although my anti virus hates it, however the drop down menu to select the JJ2 window doesn't find anything. That said, it doesn't work for me. Tried with all kinds of JJ2s, administrator mode etc etc.

1.23 crashes immediately, AV
wKtK
avatar

Webmaster
Posts: 707
118
#5 | [q]2012-04-19 12:27
What antivirus and OS do you use? My avast thought it a bit suspicious, I guess it doesn't like progs that change things in other processes emo

Dumb question, but do you click the reload button to fill the drop down?

EDIT: It could also be your anti-virus blocking 'sandboxing' it, causing it unable to see Jazz2...


Nostalgia warning, well, at least if you're one of those ppl...
Vegito
CC
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 387
30
#6 | [q]2012-04-19 12:31
Updated my post, 1.23 crashes immediately (access violation) while TSF works now. Windows 7 professional 64 bit.
The anti virus I use is (obviously) Norton cause that's the only shit anti virus that blocks literally every program they don't know.
wKtK
avatar

Webmaster
Posts: 707
118
#7 | [q]2012-04-19 12:35
Ah, well that means it works now. I haven't tested 1.23 myself yet, so if TSF works it's safe to assume the prog is working.

I'll test+update astop for 1.23 as soon as I get home.

EDIT: Just checked the source code on my Dropbox, and found the bug (i think). Will be easy to fix emo


UPDATE: The program now really works with 1.23. I just tested it emo


Nostalgia warning, well, at least if you're one of those ppl...
Vegito
CC
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 387
30
#8 | [q]2012-04-19 15:34
Works emo
wKtK
avatar

Webmaster
Posts: 707
118
#9 | [q]2012-04-19 15:45
yay emo


Nostalgia warning, well, at least if you're one of those ppl...
GLaDOS
aEs
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 122
28
#10 | [q]2012-04-19 18:26
This is looking very useful, great job wKtK!

There's just one problem that is trivially easy to fix (GMR used to have it too): the window has a small caption bar, which prevents it from showing up in the alt-tab list or the panel's window list when using Wine, so once it loses focus, you'll have to minimize other windows until you find it again. Switching the window type to a standard "non-toolbar" type window should fix the issue.

Also, this is something pretty minor, but I suggest resetting the chat cursor position (it's inside plus.dll's memory) to zero and closing the chatbox (no need for CRT, just set the variable whether it should display to 0) whenever a command is executed (in addition to clearing the chat string), so you don't have this empty chatbox and misplaced cursor floating around after entering a command.
wKtK
avatar

Webmaster
Posts: 707
118
#11 | [q]2012-04-19 22:56
Yeah, good idea.

Ill change the windowtype, and Gry asked me to see if i could check for an [enter] press after a command, so I'm trying that first.

Thanks for the feedback emo


Nostalgia warning, well, at least if you're one of those ppl...
GLaDOS
aEs
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 122
28
#12 | [q]2012-04-19 23:15
Intercepting the enter press is not going to be easy, you might end up having to use a hook to prevent the "/cstop" text from actually being sent to the server.
wKtK
avatar

Webmaster
Posts: 707
118
#13 | [q]2012-04-20 11:44
Yes, so I might go with your method. However I'm traveling this weekend, and I haven't got my Windoze development box with me. So I can code it when I return next Monday.


Nostalgia warning, well, at least if you're one of those ppl...
TerraMan
[CDF]
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 72
2
#14 | [q]2012-04-20 16:14
No .... ...A, or Minecraft support.
The Minecraft is not based on JJ2, so remove from the list


Fucked the signature.
Zoro
avatar

JJnet user
Posts: 875
43
#15 | [q]2012-04-20 16:25
We know. That was just a joke. emo


INACTIVE
Grytolle
avatar

JJnet admin
Posts: 844
86
#16 | [q]2012-04-20 16:41
Quote:
Intercepting the enter press is not going to be easy, you might end up having to use a hook to prevent the "/cstop" text from actually being sent to the server.
Thats not really important... after all, in the long run this should be a server side command
GLaDOS
aEs
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 122
28
#17 | [q]2012-04-20 17:29
It will indeed be a lot easier if it is going to be a serverside command, but I didn't know it was going to be remade into a serverside program.
Iustyn
CC
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 373
24
#18 | [q]2012-04-20 18:01
wKtK FOR PRESIDENT emo
(This post has been helpful to 1 of the forumers.)
Lithium
aEs
avatar
Moderator
Posts: 1757
106
#19 | [q]2012-04-20 18:03
Lithium for Emperor I agree!


I'm a jj.net/forum moderator - feel free to contact me if you have issues with the site or the forum.
__________________________
We rode on the winds of the rising storm,
We ran to the sounds of the thunder.
We danced among the lightning bolts,
and tore the world asunder.
wKtK
avatar

Webmaster
Posts: 707
118
#20 | [q]2012-04-20 19:45
It will eventually be remade into a serverside command, I am already planning this. Too bad it can't be integrated with plus though...

While I'm on that topic, does anyone of the coders here knows how exactly to read the chat? (not the typed chatsting, but chat the server recieved?). I tried getting the address a few times with cheatengine, but only found it unstable in the chatloggers process...

Anyway, as soon as school quiets down a bit, which will be in <2 moths i hope, I'm finishing the fukkatsu network engine stuff which will give me the needs to make an easy, commandline cross-platform dedicated server thingy. Until than, I'm gonna make a Windows/Wine tool like this one.


Nostalgia warning, well, at least if you're one of those ppl...
GLaDOS
aEs
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 122
28
#21 | [q]2012-04-20 20:48
If I remember correctly, JJ2 stores the currently displayed on-screen chat in an array of dynamically allocated memory, so you should probably chat some stuff, perfectfreeze the server, search for the displayed string/strings, and then find a pointer, or possibly a pointer to a pointer to the start of the displayed string.