-=-
Menu
Tournaments
Profile
Poll
Latest videos
Latest comments
2017-10-22: "Gauntlet is onl..." -MasterSven
2017-10-22: "Throw elmsuper ..." -Jelly Jam
2017-10-22: "WW is relativel..." -KRSplatinum
2017-10-22: "Or Epitome/ww/b..." -MasterSven
2017-10-22: "bblair/je???you..." -KRSplatinum
2017-10-22: "No bblair, no l..." -Jelly Jam
2017-10-21: "No Urbs, no win..." -MasterSven
2017-10-21: "Haha good job M..." -Slaz
2017-10-21: "haha, well play..." -[GpW]Urbs
2017-10-20: "CDF was on the ..." -Slaz
Latest matches
flag [CDF] [10:04] [GpW]flag
flag [GpW] [07:05] [CDF]flag
flag CX [09:02] -t3>flag
flag CC [13:06] [GpW]flag
flag [GpW] [06:03] [CDF]flag
flag CX [18:00] [GpW]flag
flag -t3> [07:06] [GpW]flag
flag -t3> [03:02] CXflag
flag CX [08:00] -t3>flag
flag -t3> [11:04] [GpW]flag
Latest forum posts
By: Jelly Jam, in: Who is the best Serbian player?!? « JJ2 related2017-11-20 03:18
lol welcome back xd
By: Ahmo, in: Who is the best Serbian player?!? « JJ2 related2017-11-20 01:43
Hordy Anyday !! also Arte with radar was hard to ...
By: DanZeal, in: 'Facing Worlds' Is Still The Best Multiplayer Map... « JJ2 related2017-11-19 20:13
:)
By: KRSplatinum, in: 'Facing Worlds' Is Still The Best Multiplayer Map... « JJ2 related2017-11-14 02:17
I forgot, the difference is that on JJ2 Facing Wor...

JJnet's forum

«Latest posts» «Latest threads» «Search» «User CP»

  Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
     Jazz JackRabbit 2 PSP | [q]2011-11-27 02:10
szabi90avatar
JJnet user

Posts: 57
2
I wonder if JJ2 can be made for PSP. The game does not require much. A game that works on Windows 95-98 , does not require much.

I hope that there is someone out there , who can make JJ2 work on psp.
Replies
szabi90
avatar

JJnet user
Posts: 57
2
#76 | [q]2011-12-14 17:34
The PSP's ram is not so impressive ,but those who don't know the PSP's configuration , would not notice that. Has a great menu ,has many applications ,options ... it is different from the other portable devices. The jj2 game it is old , doesn't require much ... on a pentium 1 computer for ex. the game would run just fine , on a psp maybe not ,because they are 2 different devices. Even if the psp has for ex. the same configuration as a pentium 1 computer, the game would run laggy on the console.
wKtK
avatar

Webmaster
Posts: 707
121
#77 | [q]2011-12-14 19:18
You are right when you say Jazz Jackrabbit2 is not memory intensive. However, the PSP emulator must also run Windows to be able to run jj2. And Windows does take up a lot of RAM, especially for a handheld gaming device such as the PSP.

The old PSP (1000) has 32MB, of wich about 10-15 is used by the system. I.E the Emulator (Windows + JJ2) can not use it. That leaves say 22MB for the Emulator. A fresh started JJ2 (TSF) in the first lvl uses around 17MB. So GL running Windows on the other 5 MB emo (cue swap file-hell)

The PSP 2000 and 3000 however, have 64MB RAM of which 40MB can be allocated to Games (emulator). It is possible to run Windows 95 or 98 in 32MB, so Jazz Jackrabbit could run although with (extensive) use of the swap file.

Conclusion: Please try it on the PSP 2000 and up, and remember that JJ2 will possibly run very slow because of Windows needing to write to the swap file.

And by the way, with a (good) emulator it should make no difference on what device you run it. I don't know enough about the PSP's processor the provide any info on that, I'll leave that to the other programmers/hackers/nerds/etc. around here emo


Nostalgia warning, well, at least if you're one of those ppl...
Jake
NF
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 99
4
#78 | [q]2011-12-14 19:21
Windows BSOD's if I open the setup for JJ2... cba.
wKtK
avatar

Webmaster
Posts: 707
121
#79 | [q]2011-12-14 20:11
Quote:
Windows BSOD's if I open the setup for JJ2... cba.


Sounds like you got windows working like it's supposed to be emo


Nostalgia warning, well, at least if you're one of those ppl...
Jake
NF
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 99
4
#80 | [q]2011-12-14 20:26
Quote:
Sounds like you got windows working like it's supposed to be emo


Yeah emo
szabi90
avatar

JJnet user
Posts: 57
2
#81 | [q]2011-12-14 21:42
Jake , did you managed to run JJ2 on psp ?

Can anybody install win 95 or 98 on psp ,and try running jj2 ? I tried but I have failed ....

Or try running with the mac os 8 emulator ...
Jake
NF
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 99
4
#82 | [q]2011-12-14 21:52
Quote:
Jake , did you managed to run JJ2 on psp ?

Quote:
Windows BSOD's if I open the setup for JJ2... cba.
szabi90
avatar

JJnet user
Posts: 57
2
#83 | [q]2011-12-14 23:01
I don't understand Jake , explain please "
Windows BSOD's if I open the setup for JJ2... cba.
i:m
CX
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 263
46
#84 | [q]2011-12-14 23:05
emo emo emoOMG SOMEBODY TRY TO INSTALL JJ2 ON PSP PLEASE SOMEBODY TRY TO INSTALL I TRIED BUT I FAILED SOMEBODY TRY TO INSTALL JJ2 PLZ emo emo emo
Jake
NF
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 99
4
#85 | [q]2011-12-16 12:29
And just for a quick laugh...
Quote:
Help me out please .... what does this mean ?

Windows BSOD's if I open the setup for JJ2... cba. ??

Explain please , if the game works ,send it
szabi90
avatar

JJnet user
Posts: 57
2
#86 | [q]2011-12-16 16:00
I was asking nicely , and you laugh , well don't write in "computer stile " - "Windows BSOD's if I open the setup for JJ2... cba. ?? " this has no meaning , the sentence is incorrect written.
i:m
CX
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 263
46
#87 | [q]2011-12-16 16:12
Please , Somebody try to install JJ2 on psp emulator . I tried but failed , please somebody install if somebody is interested , please install JJ2 on psp .
Anubis
CC
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 175
28
#88 | [q]2011-12-16 16:43
BSOD = Blue Screen of Death (and it's meant literally).
szabi90
avatar

JJnet user
Posts: 57
2
#89 | [q]2011-12-16 21:53
That is more like it

i:m , don't fool around
ShakerNL
avatar

JJnet user
Posts: 145
16
#90 | [q]2011-12-17 02:55
Just play JJ1 on a PSP, that's stable enough emo
Code:
http://psp.dashhacks.com/downloads/jazz-jackrabbit-v002

It also works on Android using aDosBox

or try Djazz's webjj2 (which is unfinished)
Code:
http://djazz.mine.nu/apps/WebJJ2/



Puke Nukem
szabi90
avatar

JJnet user
Posts: 57
2
#91 | [q]2011-12-17 15:41
Thanks for the post , but I have a better version of JJ1 on my psp ,de dos" ported version wich ,works 100% without bugs , speed is " 95 % , sound /music - 100%.

I know the homebrew version , it is unfinished , it has bugs.

I prefer JJ2 . It is a better game.




What is Djazz's webjj2 ? for what use ? I clicked on the link you gave me ,but didn't load.
DanZeal
[CDF]
avatar
JJnet admin
Posts: 277
13
#92 | [q]2011-12-17 20:48
Quote:
What is Djazz's webjj2 ? for what use ? I clicked on the link you gave me ,but didn't load.


I think you need chrome.


"The myth that women should not lift heavy is advanced only by women who fear effort and men who fear women." -Eric Midkiff
szabi90
avatar

JJnet user
Posts: 57
2
#93 | [q]2011-12-18 11:16
It loads only with google chrome. It is not a game , only it seems to be one.
szabi90
avatar

JJnet user
Posts: 57
2
#94 | [q]2011-12-18 19:37
Will the PS VITA be powerfull enough to play on it PC GAMES ? , maybe I should not worry that much , if the JJ2 game will be made for psp.
Jake
NF
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 99
4
#95 | [q]2011-12-18 22:52
Quote:
Will the PS VITA be powerfull enough to play on it PC GAMES ? , maybe I should not worry that much , if the JJ2 game will be made for psp.

I don't think it's about power here. PSP does clearly come over JJ2's minimum requirements, so I believe it's only memory (RAM) that has any problems with this.
wKtK
avatar

Webmaster
Posts: 707
121
#96 | [q]2011-12-19 14:54
You need to change that question to:
"If my emulated version of Windows is done sucking my PSP's RAM, will there be enough left for JJ2?"
^this is the only problem I'm aware of emo


Nostalgia warning, well, at least if you're one of those ppl...
Jake
NF
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 99
4
#97 | [q]2011-12-19 22:02
Quote:
"If my emulated version of Windows is done sucking my PSP's RAM, will there be enough left for JJ2?

Almost. JJ2's minimum requirements are designed to include Win95 running in the background, and PSP 3000 does go over those. The problem is that PSP itself also does suck up the RAM for it's own purposes (world domination etc)
szabi90
avatar

JJnet user
Posts: 57
2
#98 | [q]2011-12-20 01:04
I think I am gonna buy a PS VITA , when the console will be hacked , maybe someone will find a way to port older pc games to the console. There will be no problem with the ram"

I think there is a bigger possibility to port PC games to PS VITA , cause of its configuration.

Not now ... when it will be hacked , maybe a new version of custom firmware will come out , wich will allow you to run Pc games ,who knows ...


Jake , did you managed to run the game ? or have you tried to do something ?
Jake
NF
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 99
4
#99 | [q]2011-12-20 07:07
I haven't tried anything. I don't feel like looking for a way to install QEMU and WINE on my PSP...
i:m
CX
avatar
JJnet user
Posts: 263
46
#100 | [q]2011-12-20 08:37
co za rozpieszczony bachor
  Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7